Kobe to be awarded his first ever MVP award

May 3, 2008 by  

Stern will make the official presentation to Lakers star next week.

It took 12 seasons, but Kobe Bryant has finally been selected the NBA’s most valuable player, The Times has learned.

Sources familiar with the outcome who were not authorized to speak publicly about the award until the official announcement from the league said Commissioner David Stern will be in Los Angeles next week to present the trophy to Bryant.

The award, selected by NBA writers and broadcasters, figured to go to either Bryant or New Orleans guard Chris Paul, who guided the Hornets to second place in the Western Conference in the regular season. Full Story…

Editor’s Add-On

HooPh Poll Question – Who’s YOUR 2007-2008 NBA Regular Season MVP?

Answers – No. Of Votes

Answer 1: Carlos Boozer – 0
Answer 2: Chris Paul – 27-
Answer 3: Dirk Nowitzki – 1
Answer 4: Dwight Howard – 1
Answer 5: Kevin Garnett -17
Answer 6: Kobe Bryant – 154
Answer 7: LeBron James – 56
Answer 8: Steve Nash – 7
Answer 9: Tim Duncan – 4

*Total Votes: 267

Follow hooph on Twitter